About Us

The Georgia Corn Commission was authorized under the state law set by the Commodities Promotion Act. The commission was established in 1993 through a referendum and balloting of Georgia corn growers and is reaffirmed every three years through a statewide balloting of active corn growers.

The commission board oversees a mandatory check-off program of 1 cent per bushel on corn that is produced and sold in Georgia. The check-off is assessed at the first point of sale. Funds from the program can be invested for research, education, market development and promotion purposes only.

The Corn Commission Board is made up of five active corn growers selected by the Georgia Commissioner of Agriculture and two ex-officio members that represent the Georgia Department of Agriculture and Georgia Farm Bureau. The current board members and contact information is located on the Board Members page.

Comments are closed.